The Vine Schools Trust is a multi-academy trust and is the accountable body for all twenty three of its schools. Therefore, the overarching responsibility for the governance of the Trust and its schools lies with the Vine Board of Directors.  They fulfil the three core functions of governance:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

To enable the Directors to fulfil their responsibility eight regional Local Schools Board’s work on their behalf and undertake delegated local governance of between two and four schools.  Community Boards in each school enable local support and provide information to enable good governance.

The key principle is that all three Boards together with Executive Leaders will provide an aspect of governance the other cannot as set out in this chart.

This model of governance is undertaken under delegated responsibility. For full details see below.

Southminster School Intervention Board 2021/22

NameType of GovernorAppointed ByDate of Appointment
Tosca BoothmanChairTrust Appointed1st September 2020
Spencer BraggHeadteacherEx-officio by virtue
Sarah Lane CawteGovernorTrust Appointed15th June 2018
Ruth EverettDiocesan AdvisorTrust Appointed1st September 2020
Revd Peter BegleyGovernorIncumbent1st January 2020
Paul HughesGovernorTrust Appointed1st February 2020
Ellie TaylorGovernorTrust Appointed

Southminster School Intervention Board Record of Attendance 2021/22

Tosca BoothmanAttendedAttended
Spencer BraggAttendedAttended
Sarah Lane CawteAttendedAttended
Ruth EverettAttendedAttended
Revd Peter BegleyApologiesApologies
Paul HughesAttendedAttended
Ellie TaylorApologies

Business Declarations 2021/22

NameRoleBusiness DeclarationFamily Declaration
Tosca BoothmanChairSelf employed governance consultant.

Vine School Trust Governance Lead.

Hogarth Primary School – SIB Member
Wimbish Primary School – IEB Member
St Cedds – LSB Chair
Grange Primary School – SIB Member
Tillingham – LSB Member
Rolph – LSB Chair
Wickford Primary School – SIB Member
Great Clacton Juniors – LSB Chair
St Andrew’s Weeley – LSB Chair
Latchingdon – LSB Chair

Spencer BraggHeadteacherNoneNone
Sarah Lane CawteGovernorEducation Officer at Free Churches Group.
Charity trusteeships – Religious Education Council of England and Wales (Chair)
Member of Essex SACRE (Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education) and Convenor of United Reformed Church Mission Committee

Ruth EverettDiocesan Advisor
Revd Peter BegleyGovernorHackblock Educational Charity – ex-officio trustee.

St Cedds – LSB Member
Latchingdon – LSB Member

Paul HughesGovernor
Ellie TaylorGovernorTrust AppointedHead of School at Bulphan Church of England Primary School (Diocese of Chelmsford Vine Schools Trust)